Archana Suseendran beats Hima Das in 100m to claim sprint double in Indian GP2 

AFI Media

Thiruvananthapuram, March 27: Tamil Nadu’s Archana Suseendran beat Hima Das in the 100m final and made the most of the Assam sprinter’s disqualification in the 200m to claim a double and steal the thunder in the women’s events in the AFI Indian Grand Prix 2 at the Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education here today.

Archana Suseendran won the 100m in 11.52 seconds, 0.22 seconds ahead of Hima Das, and the 200m in 23.21 seconds.

The 24-year-old Ajmal clocked his second sub-47 second time this season, improving on the 46.90 seconds he won the AFI National 400m Championships title in here earlier this month. Despite winning the National Games crown in 46.29 seconds last year, he was only fifth best Indian last year and will be looking to establish himself as the leading quarter miler in the Asian Games year.

With a best of 19.76m, the left-handed Tajinderpal Singh Toor dominated the men’s Shot Put. Each of his four valid efforts were better than the 19.17m that his Punjab team-mate Karanveer Singh managed to edge out Sahib Singh (Delhi) to claim the second place. Tajinderpal Singh Toor, however, is still looking for his first 20m effort of the year.

Commonwealth Games gold medalist Eldhose Paul (Kerala) won the men’s Triple Jump contest with a best effort of 16.27m. Karthik Unnikrishnan and Abdulla Aboobacker ensured a podium sweep for Kerala, with the former getting his nose ahead by a mere 3 cm. Interestingly, the Commonwealth Games silver medallist Abdulla Aboobacker cleared 15.77m in his only valid try.

Muhammed Anas Yahiya ran out a winner in his first national-level race since returning from the Commonwealth Games last year. He clocked 21.54 seconds to push Maldives’ Hassan Saaid to second place. Earlier, Sanjeet Singh (Haryana) edged out Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) by a hundredth of a second in the men’s 100m.

The 2018 Asian Games 1500m gold medalist Jinson Johnson returned to the track for only his second race since he finished fifth in the World Military Games in Wuhan, China, in October 2019. Having finished third in the Federation Cup in April last year, he tasted victory in 3:44.52 today, leaving Delhi’s Rahul and Maharashtra’s Prakash Balu Gadade in his wake.

The AFI Indian Grands Prix 3 and 4 will be held in Bengaluru on April 10 and 15.

The results:


100m (races A&B): 1. Sanjeet (Haryana) 10.65 seconds; 2. Amiya Kumar Mallick (Odisha) 10.66; 3. Hassan Saaid (Maldives) 10.76.

200m (races A&B): 1. Muhammed Anas Yahiya (Kerala) 21.54 seconds; 2. Hassan Saaid (Maldives) 21.61; 3. SK Kaven (Tamil Nadu) 21.62.

400m (races A, B, C & D): 1. Muhammed Ajmal (Kerala) 46.65 seconds; 2. Nihal Joel (Karnataka) 47.24; Rahul Ramesh Kadam (Maharashtra) 47.26.

1500m: 1. Jinson Johnson (Kerala) 3:44.52; 2. Rahul (Delhi) 3:47.00; 3. Prakash Balu Gadade (Maharashtra) 3:48.57.

10000m: 1. Jagat Singh Gurjar (Delhi) 30:33.03; 2. Kiran Matre (Maharashtra) 30:33.14; 3. Pritam Kumar (Delhi) 30:35.57 in.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Balkishan (Haryana) 8:39.84; 2. Atul Poonia (Rajasthan) 8:42.51; 3. Sunil Jinabh (Gujarat) 8:50.68.

Long Jump: 1. Nirmal Sabu (Kerala) 7.72m; 2. KM Sreekanth (Kerala) 7.28; 3. Aditya Kumar Singh (Madhya Pradesh) 7.26.

Triple Jump: 1. Eldhose Paul (Kerala) 16.27m; 2. Karthik Unnirkishnan (Kerala) 15.80; 3. Abdulla Aboobacker (Kerala) 15.77.

Shot Put: 1. Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Punjab) 19.76m; 2. Karanveer Singh (Punjab) 19.17; 3. Sahib Singh (Delhi) 19.07.

Javelin Throw: 1. Arshdeep Singh (Punjab) 73.02m; 2. Izhar Ahmed (Uttar Pradesh) 67.33; 3. Samarjeet Singh Malhi (Rajasthan) 54.47.


100m: 1. Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 11.52 seconds; 2. Hima Das (Assam) 11.74; 3. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 11.80.

200m: 1. Archana Suseendran (Tamil Nadu) 23.21 seconds; 2. AT Daneshwari (Karnataka) 24.13; 3. R Anu (Kerala) 24.33.

400m (races A & B): 1. Dandi Jyothika Sri (Andhra Pradesh) 53.56 seconds; 2. Aishwarya Kailash Mishra (Maharashtra) 54.09; 3. Subha Venkatesan (Tamil Nadu) 54.61.

1500m: 1. Chanda (Delhi) 4:20.81; 2. Ankita Dhyani (Uttarakhand) 4;22.07; 3. KM Deeksha (Madhya Pradesh) 3:27.33.

3000m Steeplechase: 1. Komal Chandrakant Jagadale (Maharashtra) 10:26.20; 2. K Swetha (Kerala) 11:49.12; 3. Priti (Haryana) 14:22.02.

100m Hurdles: 1. Pranjali Dilip Patil (Maharashtra) 13.84 seconds; 2. Unnathi Aiyappa Bolland (Karnataka) 13.96; 3. Sowmiya Murugan (Andhra Pradesh) 14.45.

Pole Vault: 1. Malavika Ramesh (Kerala) 3.10m; 2. Nagamme Ravindra Baje (Kerala) 3.00; 3. Chinchumol Mathew (Kerala) 2.90.

Triple Jump: 1. Nayana James (Kerala) 13.22m; 2. Gayathri Sivakumar (Kerala) 13.19; 3. Renu (Haryana) 12.83.

Hammer Throw: 1. Rekha Singh (Uttarakhand) 53.75m; 2. KM Fatma (Uttar Pradesh) 50.04; 3. Kessia Mariam Benny (Kerala) 48.91.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.